Bounce Music… If you don’t know, now you know!

A few years ago I was introduced to Diplo and other ‘Dubstep/ Electronic’ artists.  At first I did not care for the music genre, but it really started to grow on me.  I started listening to Pretty Lights, Bassnectar,  and then Skrillex… I was hooked.  The shows that these artists put on were non stop dancing and fun!  I saw Diplo perform with his group Major Lazer at the Bonnaroo Music Festival this summer, and it was more entertainment than I anticipated.

The video I posted is a pilot for a show that Diplo has created where he analyzes music genres and visits the places they were created.  This particular show was about Bounce Music in New Orleans, LA.  Bounce Music has been around a good while, but it was a new experience for me.  Big Freedia is the first Bounce Music artist I heard.  It was quite possibly the best mix of music and hilariousness.  Diplo, being the great music creator he is, decided he would take advantage of the new interest of Bounce Music and create a Dubstep/Bounce fusion.  His song is called ‘Express Yourself’ ft. Nicky Da B, I highly recommend it.

“If you don’t know, now you know”

– JG

Leave a Reply

